«

»

Aug 14

Print this Post

Erin Simmons – Talks To Us

Age: 24
Weight: 135 lb

Workout Routine:

2-3 days weightlifting, 1-2 days circuit training, 3-5 days cardio

Allot of other women look up to you, who do you look up to?

I’ve always really admired Dara Torres for her ability to not only maintain her fitness level as she has gotten older, but also for the balancing act that she plays between family and fitness. I’ve heard family and having had children as an excuse over and over again, but she is an excellent counter example.

Your favourite food?

As a proper Texas girl, it would have to be a tie between BBQ and Mexican food! I try to go for healthier versions (i.e. taco salad) and proper proportions, and of course the key is that I don’t eat it all the time. But it is so good when I do!

What’s your best music to work out to?

Lately, I’ve enjoyed working out to my AC/DC Pandora Station. But that really just changes based on my mood and what’s working to get me pumped up that day.

Do you eat any of what people call junk food? If so how often?

Sure, but not that bad of food and not that often. One of my big pieces of advice is to look for healthier options. For example, I love ice cream so instead I’ll look for frozen yogurt (Stonyfield has a great organic frozen yogurt, and a lot of companies are now coming out with Greek frozen yogurt which has added protein!). And I used to really like Doritos as a kid, but now I’ve found RIceWorks Sweet Chili chips. But yes, every now and then I have an ice cream cone or pizza I just don’t make that a regular part of my diet.

Do you drink alcohol? If so how often?

Not very often, maybe one drink per week. Again, most things are fine in moderation!

What would an example be of your diet you eat day to day?

Check it out here: http://erinsimmonsfitness.wordpress.com/2011/11/29/erinsimmonsfitness-sample-meal-plan/ (click the link within the page)

If you could pick only 3 different body parts to put on your body from 3 other people, what would they be and why?

None. I love my body and I’ve worked hard for it. I can appreciate other people’s bodies and their hard work, but I wouldn’t substitute my body parts for theirs. If I want certain body parts to look different, I’ll put in the work to reach those goals.

What are your 1st and 2nd biggest achievements in life so far?

My biggest achievement so far would be my Master’s degree that I earned back in 2011. It took 3 years and 300 pages to complete my thesis, but it was a very rewarding experience to get that diploma! And taking second place to that would have to be my completion of a half marathon. A little over a year ago, I had never ran more than two or three miles. I was a sprinter through high school and did mostly field events in college, so I used that as an excuse for my inability to run distance. Turns out, it was all in my head and I am pretty proud of the fact that I was able to overcome that mental block and run the extra 10 miles.

What is your main goal in life?

My main goal is to do what makes me happy and not waste precious time or energy on things that don’t, and to contribute as much as I can to the happiness of others.


What is your favourite picture of yourself at the moment?

Websites:

www.erinsimmonsfitness.wordpress.com
http://www.youtube.com/erinsimmonsfitness
www.twitter.com/ErinSimmonsFit
http://pinterest.com/erinsimmonsfit/

You Might Also Like:

Testo Turbo

Permanent link to this article: http://www.unleashedbeasts.com/beasts/erin-simmons-talks-to-us/